Thank you for those answers! It’s great to see this game still get the support it deserves here at BGG.
I have a follow-up question to #1 that I’ll apologize for in advance. I know I’m getting picayune here, but I and the rest of my group are total rules lawyers so I’m sure it will come up.
“However, if someone loses their only cube they can still expand out from their starting state, assuming a slot is available.”
“…assuming a slot is available” could mean two things; an available slot being adjacent to the state in question, or an available spot anywhere on the map.
I wonder if we should go by the rules for initial placement when someone’s home state is already taken. “In this case, if a presidential candidate, the cube is placed as close to the Home State as possible.” I interpret this as the closest unclaimed state even if it isn’t adjacent. “In the case of a vice presidential candidate without a vacancy, the cube is placed adjacent to that of his running mate…; if there is no adjacent vacancy, the vice presidential candidate may only place in a State which is not contiguous with those of the east coast, e.g. California.”
So if a presidential candidate gets bounced from NY by the Liberty Party and has no cubes on the board, the candidate can place in the state closest to NY that’s available. If it’s the VP, the VP has to place adjacent to the Pres candidate; if no adjacent state is available, the VP must place in a non-contiguous state.
Does this seem reasonable?