ok i'm clearly missing something... i don't understand how the scores are the same under chinese and japanese? take this game - if black wins the ko compared to if white wins the ko. Under chinese rules, there will be a difference of 2 more pieces for white and two less for black - so a 4 point swing. Under japanese rules, it makes no difference (except for the 1 point lost as black has to defend against h2). So two identical games with just who won the ko being different would have a different score in chinese and the same (or closer anyway) score in japanese no? Under japanese rules if black fills all dame and white none it makes zero difference to the score, but it could make a significant difference in chinese scoring - so how can both be the same?
It's too early in the morning for my brain to ponder the ko mystery here. :)
But the dame mystery is easier to resolve: if you're playing with chinese rules, black would not fill all the dame, because white would not stupidly keep passing and letting black keep placing stones and keep scoring more points! Black and white would alternate filling dame. I.e. the statement that the scores are always equal (or close to equal) supposes rational competent players.
I received mine today. I must say I’m very impressed with the quality of the game as a whole. The dice are so lovely, the cards are plastic and thin which allows for ease of overlapping. Even the box is perfect.
Does the soldier have the ability to use the Armory to kill all aliens in a single room for just one action, or is it for one action and a tactical? While the card reads the former, it seems to make more sense that the soldier can kill all aliens for the same cost that others use to kill one.
Yes, you can either do it by hand or via the security station in the armory.
So to be clear: the soldier can be in the armory, use an action to kill all aliens in the cargo hold, and still have a tactical discount available for a subsequent action?
If I recall correctly, intergrated discounts are per action, not per turn. So whatever the Soldier does, she will never "use up" her bonuses.