Two other questions now that I've finished my first game:
1) When your die value is a "6" AND you win initiative through any means (whether outright or via tiebreaker), you MUST choose a Day action, correct? In the rules, that section is a subheading underneath tiebreaking, but it sounds like it applies to all initiative values, whether tied or not.
2) When choosing Day or Night, can you choose one even if you don't have the ships to participate in the fight? The rules did not forbid it so I used that strategically. I wound up in a surface ship only fight (nobody had carriers) with the Yamato
on one side (BIG YIKES), but I won the heck out of initiative, so I kept choosing Day actions to keep that monster from destroying me. Is that legit? It sure as heck felt legit but I wanted to check.
On a side note, good job making the Yamato
into a horrifying engine of destruction.